Kirsten Marie Ørnsbjerg Jensen

Kirsten became assistant professor at University of Copenhagen in October 2015. She did her undergraduate and PhD studies at Aarhus University, where she worked in Bo B. Iversen’s group in Center for Materials Crystallography. Following her PhD, Kirsten did postdoctoral work at Columbia University in New York in Simon J. L. Billinge’s group; using total scattering and PDF to study the structure of nanomaterials. Kirsten is leading the Nanostructure group at University of Copenhagen, focusing on mapping the relation between nanomaterial synthesis, structure and properties.

Follow Kirsten here:
Google Scholar
ResearcherID: I-9367-2012
ORCID: 0000-0003-0291-217X

PhD students:

Troels Lindahl Christiansen
Troels has been a PhD student in the group since March 2016, after finishing his master’s degree from Aarhus University. Troels works on the synthesis and characterization of ultrasmall metal oxide particles, and uses both powder diffraction and total scattering as well as complementary characterization techniques to study the effect of nanosize on structure.

Mikkel Juelsholt
Mikkel joined the group in February 2016 for his bachelor research project, and has stayed on in the group since then, now as a PhD-student. Mikkel the synthesis and characterization of tungsten oxide nanoparticles.

Jette Katja Mathiesen
Jette started her PhD in the group in January 2018 after her MSc studies at DTU and BSc at Aarhus University. In her Masters thesis, in collaboration with the Nanostructure Group, Jette used X-ray total scattering to study carbon based battery materials. In her PhD, she is studying the structure/synthesis/property relations of metallic and intermetallic nanoparticles for catalysis.

Andy Sode Anker
Andy started his MSc+PhD program in the group in September 2018, but has been working with the group since he was an undergraduate student. He works on understanding reaction mechanism related to metal oxido clusters in solution, applying both PDF and SAXS.


Master Students:

Emil Thyge Skaaning Kjaer
In his Masters project in Nanoscience, Emil works on data treatment of in situ PDF data.

Olivia Aaling-Frederiksen
Olivia works on the formation and structure of small niobium and tungsten oxides.


Undergraduate students:

Magnus Wied
Magnus is doing his BSc thesis project in the group, working on transition metal tungstates and their formation.


Alumni from the group:

Elly Kim Bathke – MSc, Nanoscience, Graudated August 2018
Triana Wulandari – MSc, Nanoscience, Graduated June 2018
Joanna Symnowicz – MSc,  Physics, Graduated February 2018
Emil Rössing Elholm – MSc, Chemistry, Graduated December 2017
Christina Basse Riel – BSc, Nanoscience, Graduated January 2017
Mathias Helmsøe-Zinck – BSc, Nanoscience, Graduated June 2016

Visitors to the group:

We’re happy to have hosted visitors to the group:

Susan Cooper, graduate student in Jim Hutchison’s group at University of Oregon. Susan has been with us for in total 6 months during 2016 and 2017.

Christoph Findler, master student in Dorota Koziej’s group at ETH Zurich, visited the group to use PDF to study the formation of metal oxides.